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Keep Protecting Yourself After the Disaster &=

In a time of need, who is helping and who is trying to harm you? We can
help you tell the difference

Updated August 28, 2014

Floods, fires, earthquakes and other disasters are common in Southern California.

Often, these disasters bring out the best in us; neighbors helping neighbors, the bravery
of fire, police and public officials; and the help provided by government and public-service
groups.

Sadly, some people see disasters as a chance to take advantage of those in need.

Who can help? Who will try to cheat you? Consider these tips:

Price Gouging

If the Governor declares an area a disaster, it is a crime (price gouging) to increase prices
of food, repairs, construction, emergency and medical supplies, and gasoline more than
10% in the disaster area. Stores can raise prices more than 10% after a disaster only if the
increase is due to price increases from their suppliers. If a store is breaking the law, save
your receipts and contact this Department at (800) 593-8222.

Public Insurance Adjusters

You may be contacted by someone known as a public insurance adjuster. Public insurance
adjusters do not work for your insurance company. You can hire them to work on your
behalf and help you negotiate a settlement with your insurance company. They usually
charge a fee of 10% of the insurance claim proceeds you receive.

If you choose to hire a public insurance adjuster, then you should do your homework to
select the right one. They must be licensed by the California Department of Insurance and
have a bond. Check their references and ask about their work experience. For more
information, contact the Department of Insurance at (800) 927-4357 or check their online
database.

Contractors and Home Repairs
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Contractors in California must be licensed if they charge you $500 or more for repairs.
Contact the Contractors State License Board at (800) 321-2752 to find out if a contractor
has a valid license, or if people have complained against them.

After a disaster, do not be rushed or pushed into signing a contract for repairs. Before you
choose a contractor, get several bids, and make sure all verbal promises are in the written
contract, including materials to be used, costs, and the completion dates.

If the total cost for materials and labor is $500 or more, the contractor can charge you a

down payment of only $1,000 or 10% of the total cost, whichever is lowest. Do not make
the final payment until the contractor completes the work, pays his workers, and the city
inspectors approve the work.

Phony “Disaster Officials”

Crooks might show up after a disaster and claim to be from a government agency. They
pressure you to pay for expensive, unneeded repairs. They may also claim to be brokers,
and if you pay a “processing fee,” they will get you a check from FEMA or other
government agencies. Don't be fooled. Real disaster officials carry proper identification. If
someone claims to be one, ask to see their ID. Call your local police department to report
phony “government officials.”

Bogus Charities

Beware of telemarketers, door-to-door salespeople, and junk e-mails asking for donations
to bogus disaster charities. Many bogus charities use names that sound like the real ones.
Don't be fooled. Give only to charities you know. Avoid people who will not give you their
name, phone number, or written materials. Never give money to people sent to your
home to pick up cash. Be also suspicious of out-of-state groups, especially if their only
address is a P.O. Box. Contact the Attorney General's Office Charity Registration at (916)
445-2021 to find out if a charity is real.

Moving Companies

Moving companies must be licensed by the California Public Utilities Commission. Before
you hire a moving company, contact the PUC at (800) 366-4782 to check whether the
company has a valid license, or if people have complained against them.

Water Testing Scams

Bogus firms may try to get you to buy expensive, useless water filters. They offer to test
your water for free and claim your water is bad. Don't be fooled. Contact your water
company or the County Environmental Health Department to find out if your water is bad.
The water company’s number is on their monthly bill. Contact the Department of
Environmental Health at (626) 430-5380.
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Landlord and Tenants

If you rent a home or an apartment and your place is badly damaged in a disaster, you can
move out right away. You do not have to give your landlord advance notice, and you have
the right to get back your security deposit and last month's rent. Your landlord has to send
you this money within three weeks after you move out. For help or information, contact
this Department at (800) 593-8222.

Rental Listing Companies

The Bureau of Real Estate must license companies that charge you in advance to find you
a place to live. Contact the Bureau of Real Estate at (213) 620-2072 to check whether a
company has a valid license, or find out if people have complained against them. Be aware
that many companies charge for rental listings that are old or don't exist. The company
must give you a written contract. Read and understand the contract before you sign it.

Advance-fee Loans

Following a disaster, you might need a quick loan to rebuild your home or business. Don't
be tempted by offers of "guaranteed" loans that require costly advance fees in order to
get them. If you use one of these companies, you may never get a loan or see your money
again. Protect yourself. Deal only with licensed lenders. Following a disaster, you may be
entitled to get a loan from the U.S. Small Business Administration. For more information,
call (800) 488-5323.

Door-to-Door Sales

If a person sells you something at your home for $25 or more, you have the right to cancel
the contract within three days and get a full refund. The salesperson must tell you of your
3-day right to cancel and give you a cancellation form. You can cancel for any reason, but
you must do it in writing. Make sure you mail your cancellation notice before your right to
cancel expires. To protect yourself, send the cancellation notice by certified mail and ask
the Post Office for a return receipt.
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