
Benefits of Certification

 a 5 percent bid price 

reduction (preference) up to a 

maximum of $50,000 on any 

one solicitation, consider this 

a 5 percent edge over the 

competition (except where 
State or Federal law preempts 
regulation)

 prompt payment within 15   

 days 

 listing in the County's Yellow  

 Pages of certified businesses

            Certification Process

 Certification is a Three-Step Process:  

1.   Provide documentation to the County regarding 

your company's principal office within the 

unincorporated County of Los Angeles or any of 

the 88 cities, 

2. Become certified as a small business with the State 

of California Department of General Services, 

3. Register as a County vendor at 

http://dpw.lacounty.gov/prg/business.

Please update your County record with your State 

certification reference (REF) and certification 

beginning and ending dates.

Hosted by the County of Los Angeles Department of Public Works, in collaboration 

with the California State Department of General Services and our Partners

Eligible Small Businesses with primary offices in the County of Los Angeles:

Get County Certified FAST and FREE.

Stay ahead of the competition!

You can gain a competitive edge for your business!  Become certified in just one day in the County‘s Local 
Small Business Enterprise Preference Program.  At the same time, learn about contracting opportunities 
with the Department of Public Works and the State of California.

The process includes certification as a small business by the State, verification by the County Office of 

Affirmative Action regarding the business’ principal office, and registration as a vendor with the County.



Eligibility

 Business must be located within the County 

of Los Angeles for the prior 12-month period 

 Must be independently owned and operated

 Cannot be dominant in its field of operations

 Must have its owners (or officers in the case 

of a corporation) domiciled in California, and 

 Together with your affiliates, be either 

a. A business with 100 or fewer 

employees, and have average annual 

gross receipts of $12 million or less 

over the previous three tax years, or 

b. A manufacturer with 100 or fewer 

employees

 Appointments are Required

Reserve your appointment at 

http://ladpw.org/go/getcertified.

Appointments begin at 9 a.m.

At the event, you may submit your completed  

application package with required documents 

for review and acceptance or you can also fill 

out the state application on our computers and 

receive hands-on assistance.

Please download the State application (at 

www.pd.dgs.ca.gov/smbus/paperapp.htm) in 

advance and complete as much as possible.  

This will help with completing the online 

application.

Required Documents

The below documents are required to verify number of employees, revenues, and location 

of principal office.  Here is listing of what to bring:

For the State:

State Application (STD 812 from www.pd.dgs.ca.gov/smbus/paperapp.htm)

Federal Tax Returns for the three most recently completed tax years for applicant

 business and affiliates

     State Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (Form DE6) for applicant business 

        and affiliates – for the four most recently completed quarters

If you have questions regarding the state application, contact (916) 375-4940.

For the County:

 Current and last year's business license

 Tax permit

 Lease Agreement 

If you have questions regarding the necessary documents, contact (626)-943-5607.

           Certification Location County of Los Angeles Department of Public Works

900 South Fremont Avenue, Alhambra CA 91803

Please bring your photo identification.

We appreciate the opportunity to work on this Certification event with our Partners.


