

## LOS ANGELES COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS ATTACHMENT NO. 6 – OVERWIDTH TRAILER COACH

- LIMIT OF AUTHORIZATION. This permit is valid only on routes under the jurisdiction of Los Angeles County and/or the incorporated cities which have a current permit issuance agreement with the County. See ATTACHMENT NO. 13 "INCORPORATED CITIES – PERMIT ISSUANCE AUTHORITY"
  - This permit is not valid on State Highways or the roadway crossing under or over a State Freeway. A separate moving permit is required from the State (CALTRANS).
  - This permit is not valid on streets or bridges that have posted weight limits.
- 2. **COMPLY WITH APPLICABLE LAWS.** Except as specifically authorized in the permit; the requirements of the California Vehicle Code and any other applicable laws must be complied with at all times.
- This permit is <u>not valid</u> unless issued to licensed manufacturers, dealers or transporters. See sections 35780.3 of the California Vehicle Code.
- 4. MAXIMUM LENGTH AND WIDTH. The maximum combined length shall not exceed 105 feet (80 feet for trailer, including tongue) exclusive of required lights and devices. The maximum width shall not exceed 14 feet. See sections 35109 and 35110 of the California Vehicle Code.
- 5. TOWING UNIT. The towing unit shall have a minimum unladen weight of 6500 lbs. with dual wheels for trailers up to 12' wide. For trailers exceeding 12 feet, the towing unit shall have a minimum unladen weight of 6500 lbs. with dual wheels.
- 6. GROSS WEIGHT. Axle weights shall be 6000 lbs. maximum per axle.
- 7. SIGN TYPE AND CONSTRUCTION. Signs, when required, shall be posted at the front and rear of the permitted vehicle and shall read; "OVERSIZE LOAD", "WIDE LOAD", "LONG LOAD" or as appropriate for front or rear overhang. The "OVERSIZE LOAD" sign shall have preference when a combination of features exists. The lettering shall be a 10-inch minimum height with a 2-inch minimum brush stroke and a minimum of 1-inch border all around. All signs must have black letters on a yellow background mounted at least 18-inches above the road surface, front and rear. Signs must be neat, clean, legible, mounted securely and be visible from straight ahead or directly behind and from 45 degrees on each side thereof. All signs must be illuminated for night moves or be constructed of suitable reflectorized material to be clearly visible to approaching traffic. All signs shall be removed immediately upon completion of the move.
- 8. **KEEP TO RIGHT OF CENTERLINE.** The permitted vehicle and load must be kept to the right of the highway centerline at all times and must stay off of shoulders; except when entering or leaving the highway or when necessary to allow trailing traffic to pass on narrow or winding roads.
- 9. OPERATING HOURS. This permit is valid within the period stated on the face of the permit. Any load or vehicle greater than 10 feet wide, but less than 12 feet wide, shall not move between the hours of 7 to 9 a.m. and 4 to 6 p.m. every day. Any load or vehicle 12 feet wide, but less than max allowed, shall not move between the hours of 7 to 9 a.m. and 4 to 6 p.m. every weekday and may not move from 12 noon on Saturday until 11 p.m. Sunday.
- 10. MOVING IN INCLEMENT WEATHER. Movement shall not occur in snow, fog, rain, or wind when visibility is reduced to less than 1,000 feet (304.8 meters). Movement is prohibited when road surfaces are hazardous or use of tire chains is mandatory. If inclement weather is encountered during the movement of the vehicle, it shall continue to move, using reasonable care and precaution to prevent traffic disruption, to the nearest suitable location to where the load may be parked until the inclement weather passes. The speed limit shall not exceed 25 mph or the posted speed whichever is less when moving to park at the nearest suitable location.
- 11. PARKING OF VEHICLE. Permittee shall not park the permitted vehicle on any street which is posted "NO PARKING ALLOWED". Also, permittee shall not stand nor park the permitted vehicle where it creates a hazard or traffic obstruction. If at the beginning of a restricted period the vehicle is within a location where it creates a hazard or traffic obstruction; it shall continue to move, using reasonable care or precautions to prevent traffic disruption, to the nearest suitable location where the load may be parked for the duration of the restricted period. An additional encroachment permit may be required from the governing agency. Depending on location.
- 12. PERMIT TO BE CARRIED ON VEHICLE. This permit is valid only when it is carried on the permitted vehicle.
- **13. PERMIT SUBJECT TO INSPECTION.** This permit is the property of the Los Angeles County Department of Public Works and must be surrendered upon demand to any law enforcement officer or employee of the Los Angeles County Department of Public Works charged with the care and protection of highways.

REVISED DECEMBER 2009 Page 1 of 1