Community Rating System

The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that encourages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Communities, such as the County of Los Angeles, to perform floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP requirements. As a reward, flood insurance premium rates within the Community are discounted to reflect the level of reduced flood risk resulting from the Community's activities. The CRS activities have the following benefits:
  1. Reduce flood losses
  2. Educate about flood risks, flood safety, and benefits of natural floodplains
  3. Improve coordination between agency resources
  4. Improve preparedness and emergency response
  5. Facilitate accurate insurance rating
  6. Promote the awareness of flood insurance

The County of Los Angeles has participated in the CRS since 1990 and as of May 1, 2011 has earned enough CRS points to be awarded a Class 7 rating. A Class 7 means that residents purchasing or renewing their flood insurance policies for properties in a Special Flood Hazard Area within the unincorporated communities of the County of Los Angeles will receive a 15% discount on their flood insurance premium. The County will continue to identify other feasible CRS activities to earn a higher Class Rating to further reduce the flood insurance premium rate for our property owners.

No action is needed by the residents to receive the discount. It will be automatically applied upon purchase or renewal of the flood insurance policy. Please contact your insurance agent for more details.

Additional information regarding the CRS Program is available at FEMA's website.